(How to cope with) Drums at University

da-pro1

Hello Drummerworld!

Hey there, my name is Tom, I live in west Wales (in the UK), I'm 18 years old and will begin studying Physics at Imperial College London in October.

I need some advice. I've been playing drums for 5 years now, and have had (almost) no complaints about noise. I realize how fortunate I have been considering my 6 hour bedroom band practices, my 3 a.m. drumming stints etc, etc. I also realize that living in student accommodation, in the centre of London... well; that things are gonna change!

I have researched my issue already. but haven't found much specific or useful information. Of course any general advice would be greatly appreciated (let me know of your experiences, or just rant at me if you like!) but I am looking for answers to these questions in particular: (How) Can I keep practicing? Where can I keep my drums? How is best for me to transport my drums? (I won't be able to afford a car or insurance.) How much time can I spend on drumming considering I want a good degree? Finally, does anyone have any experience of teaching drums while at University or without your own drum kit? (I've already done a lot of teaching)

I want to keep this from turning into an essay so I won't elaborate any further, but if you'd like any more information about me or my circumstances, feel free to ask.
Thank you so much guys and gals, your replies mean a lot to me! :)

topgun2021

Gold Member
how about joining some percussion ensembles or jazz bands, etc so you can still play AND not need to transport equipment?

deltdrum

how about joining some percussion ensembles or jazz bands, etc so you can still play AND not need to transport equipment?
I have found that to not be the same. Being in your own band just feels different to participating in school ensembles (I'd still advocate doing this of course).