How to be a better drummer.

Between the drums

Hello fellow drummers! I'm 18, I've been playing for about 5 years now. I guess I would consider myself an average- semi good drummer, but I'm running into problems. I don't really feel like I'm progressing in terms of playing ability. I practice for about an hour- 2 hours a day, but that usually just involves playing along to songs by other bands ( usually Pink Floyd, Rush, and Heart xD) I'm all for practicing more, and getting in a little better shape would probably help as well. But I can't afford private lessons, and just trying to learn the techniques by myself is quite hard for me to do. I have a really hard time with keeping right in time, and when using a double bass pedal along with my hand, keeping my hands and feet perfectly in time. I look up to Neil Peart in terms of technique, as well as Nick Mason, Alan White, Buddy Rich, Gene Krupa, and Chris Layton. Any help you could give me would be GREATLY APPRECIATED!

Bo Eder

Platinum Member
If your intention is to become a working, professional drummer, there's no way around this, you need to get with a teacher. You need to alter your priorities some, if you have a job, stop eating out so much, don't waste money on things that aren't an investment in your craft (and don't lie, we've all done it ;). If you want to make a change in how you play, then you must make a change in how you approach what you do. Obviously, playing along to your favorite drummers isn't really helping you, and you're having issues playing in time. With a double pedal isn't the issue, if you can't keep time at all, you're up a creek!