How should I drill a hole in my snare to give it a formal muffler?

TxGroove

My 10x14 Slingerland Marching snare drum has no formal muffler. How should I go about drilling a hole in the side of my snare to give it a custom muffler? I'm not to sure how exactly I should go about doing this? I need some tips from someone with experience such mechanical work. I just don't feel comfortable drilling a hole through it. Especially, since I'm no professional mechanical engineer. Is there a way I should do this? I'm afraid I might drill and make the wrong diameter size. Or, even worst; have it crack on me! How should I measure to get the right pocket hole for installing a particular snare muffler?

You don't need to be a mechanical engineer to drill a hole. Determine where you want the hole, put a piece of masking tape over the spot, and a piece on the inside to prevent tear out. Use a sharp bit, let the drill do the work. Use a bit the same size as the hole in the mounting hardware where the screw or bolt fits through. If the bit fits through the hole the screw will. If the drum is of any real value, find a friend more skilled, or take it to a drum shop for service.

Maybe before actually drilling into your snare, try some other dampening techniques.. Moongel is a good alternative or you could try different heads. Evans Genera Dry heads take out a lot of the ring, as would, say a pinstripe or reverse dot.
If you really want to drill, find the diameter of the hole you need to drill and use the matching drill bit size. Put a piece of painters tape over the spot you're going to drill to prevent splintering and possible slips with the bit and TAKE YOUR TIME! Let the bit do the work and don't force it in.

I did a practice run on a piece of plywood, mounted the muffler, checked the height, hole diameters, etc.