How many rides and hi hat pairs do you have?

CRS556

I was thinking last night and realized I have been playing the same pair of hi hats and ride for almost 10 years now. I love both of these cymbals, but am thinking about investing in a new ride and pair of hats. I kind of want to change up my sound.

So, how many do you own (of each)? And what are they (brand/ model)?

Pocket-full-of-gold

Platinum Member
4 pairs of hats. 5 Rides.

Hats:
13" Zildjian K/Z Specials
14" Zildjian New Beats
14" Zildjian A Mastersounds
15" Paiste 2002 Sound Edge

Rides:
20" Zildjian A Ping
20" Zildjian A Medium
20" Zildjian A Custom Medium
21" Zildjian A Sweet Ride
24" Paiste Giant Beat

Timely thread. This little inventory check has actually reminded me that I've really gotta flog off the Mastersounds and the A Custom ride......been wanting a 22" Paiste 2002 ride for some time and the funds will definitely aid that acquisition. And I have no idea where the Avedis medium is either......need to track that down too.

bermuda

Drummerworld Pro Drummer - Administrator
Staff member
I have a very healthy number of hats and rides from every major manufacturer, but for everyday gigging, I use just a handful of cymbals: Sabian Hand Hammered 14" Regular Hats, 15-20" V Crashes, AA 18" Medium Crash as a crash/ride, and occasionally a 20" AA Medium Ride (then the 18" may become a crash.) On the road I use Paragons: 14" Hats, 16/18/20" Crashes, 22" Ride and 20" Chinese.

The reason I have additional cymbals is to capture sounds as needed in the studio, or occasionally live, but I'm very happy with the main cymbals I use.

As for adding to your arsenal, what kind of sounds are you looking for? The major companies offer almost every conceivable sound you can imagine, and there are specialty companies for more unique sounds.

Bermuda

DrumEatDrum

Platinum Member
I've has two rides forever:

20" Zildjian Z Heavy Power Ride for loud rock situations.
20" K Heavy ride for everything else.