How Have You Left A Band/Project on Good Terms?

Ian Ballard

Silver Member
I am a freelance/for-hire drummer. I have no interest in being "in a band" in terms of contracting beyond the gigs or studio sessions themselves. It's understood form the get-go that I am to paid as a contracted performer and NOT "as a member of the band". If I show up and the band says I'm splitting "door money", I demand a retainer in advance or don't play the gig. Usually that doesn't happen because they know the deal beforehand. I did the "band thing" many years ago and it sucked.

I am a freelance/for-hire drummer. I have no interest in being "in a band" in terms of contracting beyond the gigs or studio sessions themselves. It's understood form the get-go that I am to paid as a contracted performer and NOT "as a member of the band". If I show up and the band says I'm splitting "door money", I demand a retainer in advance or don't play the gig. Usually that doesn't happen because they know the deal beforehand. I did the "band thing" many years ago and it sucked.
Has that ever kept you from getting hired or turned people off in any way? Around this
city, no one really wants to "hire" someone unless it's a cover band a solo artist.

eclipseownzu

Gold Member
I left a band I was in years ago and actually ended up filling in a couple of times for the guy who replaced me. It was simply a case where I wanted to go on and do something different. I told the guys I was leaving, and gave them time to find a suitable replacement (which I actually recommended). No need for animosity, I really just wanted to go and they understood. I have been in a number of bands throughout the years and have left for a variety of reasons, none of them ended in any type of anger.

FoolInTheRain