How can this be possible?

RollTheBones

So, I got back into drumming after a two-year break a few months ago, and I've been making more progress than ever. Only this time, I went with a two bass drum kit, because that's what's most comfortable to me. (Please, spare me about how having two bass drums is unnecessary)

I've been working on building my left foot, so I've done exercises and such. I've always been right-foot dominant on the bass drum. But one day, while playing "Them Bones" by AiC, I noticed my right foot was struggling to do the quick triple strokes found in the verses. On a whim, I started playing with my left foot, and I could do them with much better control and accuracy. This is perplexing to me, because despite the practice I do with my left foot, it's still not even 10 percent of my overall kick drum usage. When I do that triple hit with my right, I always miss the second hit, and it feels clunky and heavy, but with my underdeveloped left foot, I pull it off every single time without exceptions. Even stranger, I have no problem doing "Bonham triplets" with my right foot (think "Good Times, Bad Times), but you put that third hit in there, and it's an almost guaranteed miss.

How can this be possible? How am I messing up such a basic technique with my primary foot and nailing it so comfortably with the foot I only ever use when I'm doing double bass patterns or heavy metal stuff?

Odd-Arne Oseberg

Platinum Member
A lot of maturing can happen in two years.

You may not have been at a drumkit, but you are still processing.

This would also be the reason to not burn oneself out, take a break once in a while and understand how our mind and body really learns.

Your left foot?

You probably just put the pedal in the right position to begin with and did what's natural without overthinking it.

Xeno