Home Studio Help!

Hi Guys im going to start to build my own little home studio in the garage
I plan on getting a Zoom R16 to use so i can plug that directly into my, DAW (Cubase)
i has 8 XLRs in it so i easily have enough inputs to mic up my kit as well as the rest of my buddies stuff such as vocals guitar bass etc
I'm wondering if the garage is a good place for a studio
This is my first time recording by myself so i am a little in the dark here
I'm also curious as to which mics i should use ive found many " Drum Mic Packs" but as everyone knows a microphone is a microphone
I've been looking at this pack in particular let me know what you guys think
http://www.long-mcquade.com/products/14821/Pro_Audio_Recording/Microphones/Apex_Electronics/APEX-DP6_-_Deluxe_Drum_Pack.htm
Hope you can answer my questions Thanks!!

topgun2021

Gold Member
Have you even thought about sound foam yet? And where you are going to store your car since the garage is taken?

Arky

Platinum Member
(...) but as everyone knows a microphone is a microphone
It's hurting my eyes to read something like this... I have around 15 microphones, and yes - a microphone is a microphone (wow, who would have guessed...) BUT there are quite noticeable differences... in sound, price, polar pattern... Way to go in your learning process...

Do you think "drums are drums"? So no need to pick drums which are "better" than others, simply waste of money? Ok, you get the idea.

Except for crappy mics and provided you have some understanding of which microphone to use and how to use it - what really makes all the difference is mic position/angle/distance and stuff like that, and not whether you're using Oktava or Neumann. You can get away with affordable mics but you'll have to learn how to get the utmost out of them.

TNA