Help Transporting Drums

MrKickSnareHats

Hi guys!

I'm a blind musician and I play the wonderful instrument that is the drum set.

I do a lot of playing around town and vary rarely in my own home (unless I’m practicing by myself).

I am unable to drive so I get people to take me to my gigs/practices. I try and pack as less as possible so I don’t cram the car because most of the time the car is small and the driver has their own instrument and gear.

When I'm playing out I ether use the house kit if available (I usually bring my own sticks, snare, cymbals + felts and pedal). Or I bring my own set up which is:

- 20 x 14 Slingerland BD from the 70's
- 14 x 5 Ludwig Acrolite SD 1964
- 14 Zildjian hi hats from the 80's

This set up is easy to transport but can occasionally be musically limiting.

As an alternative I've thought of getting a Yamaha Club Jordan Cocktail Drum Set (or something of that nature) because it has a full set of drums (with the exception of a hi hat pedal) for the same amount of portability.

So what are your thoughts? Should I get a cocktail set or stick (no pun intended) to my kick snare hats configuration?

Thnx =)

bobdadruma

Platinum Member
I guess that it depends on the ability of the cocktail kit to suit your playing needs.
Cocktail kits aren't as full sounding as a standard size kit.
It will give you toms though.

How much more of a problem would it be for you to add a 12 inch tom to your current kit?
I would think that there is always room for a 12 inch tom in a car.

An interesting alternative would be a Nesting Kit, or a portable kit like a, Taye Go Kit.

Welcome to the forum.

MrKickSnareHats

I guess that it depends on the ability of the cocktail kit to suit your playing needs.
Cocktail kits aren't as full sounding as a standard size kit.
It will give you toms though.

How much more of a problem would it be for you to add a 12 inch tom to your current kit?
I would think that there is always room for a 12 inch tom in a car.