help planning trip in Brazil, following the music

yshemesh

hey everybody
my name is Y'honatan, i'm 22 from Israel.

i'll try to make the background short. i've been travelling south america now for 2 1/2 months. uptil now i've been in the south of Chile and Argentina.amazing nature and some great cities. whoever needs tips is welcme to ask. i arrived at Brazil a few days ago for the Carnaval. it has been amazing. heaven for drummers.

anyway, here i've gotten this crazy idea, to totally change the direction of my trip, and instead of continuing to Bolivia and Peru, to stay here in Brazil for the rest of my trip, and explore the Brazilian music.

for this purpose i have 1 month. i know this is not much, but it can be alot. i'm looking for:
a. recommendtions for where to go in brazil to listen to good ethnic and modern brazilian and latin music
b. teachers who can teach me all about the different types of brazilian and latin music, the different percussion instruments and how to play them. i could even stay in one place for the entire month just studying with this teacher.

i've been playing the drumset for a year and a half, studied for about a year with a teacher in israel. i have no experience with percusson instruments, besides this Djembe that i got in Argentina because i missed my drums so much.

you can reply here, private message, or by e-mail yshemesh@gmail.com.

thanks very much in advance.

pcastag

There are basically two main centers of music in Brazil, Rio, and Salvador da Bahia. Bahia is considered the center of all afro-brazillian music, kind of like our New Orleans, while Rio is the more modern "new york city" melting pot, sophisticated urban center. Many of the styles in Rio emigrated from salvador when blacks went to rio looking for work. Robertinho Silva has a school of music somewhere around rio, I would suggest checking there as well as contacting chuck silverman who has his own webpage and often leads musical trips for drummers to brazil.