Help! My ride cymbal is not the 'full monty'!

lowdowner

I'm just learning to play drums (just a few months in) and am tackling some Trinity Grade 1 music and I've come across a piece that needs me to play on the ride's bell.

Sounds ok, but when I look up from the music I find that my ride doesn't *have* a bell!

My TRX DRK ride is almost completely flat. Sounds great, but am I missing out on something here? Do I need to get a second ride with a bell (like a Sabian super-sweet 21" ride as an example) or can I just play it near the centre and hope for the best?

I feel like I'm missing out on the Full Monty! :(

Attachments

Dr_Watso

Platinum Member
That's a cool ride, but you're not really likely to get a bell sound without a bell...

You can however buy a cymbal "bell" by itself. The "zil-bell" is the one I see most on kits.

BacteriumFendYoke

Platinum Member
Odery kit too? Nice.

It is a bit of an issue. You're not 'missing' anything - flat rides (rides without bells) have been around for decades, they're just quite uncommon. I'm not sure what you can really do except practice hitting where the bell would be. That's difficult in itself because you would usually hit the bell with the shoulder of the stick, which you can't emulate easily without the bell strike.

I'm not sure what to recommend. Striking a bell accurately requires some practice on a real bell. Do you have a teacher? Maybe you can practice it at lessons specifically or perhaps seek out another ride cymbal that you can buy with a bell.

lowdowner

Odery kit too? Nice.

It is a bit of an issue. You're not 'missing' anything - flat rides (rides without bells) have been around for decades, they're just quite uncommon. I'm not sure what you can really do except practice hitting where the bell would be. That's difficult in itself because you would usually hit the bell with the shoulder of the stick, which you can't emulate easily without the bell strike.