Help choose a drum set

rumour

Hi all,

Im just getting into drums, and have been spending quite a bit of time trying to find a decent value set (looking mostly used at this point).

I am looking at the following drums:

Mapex Pro M - Rock
- 24*18 bass, 13*10 hanging tom, 16*16 and 18*16 floor toms, 14*16.5 snare

Pearl Export EXR
- Regular 5 piece set, I dont know the sizes

Mapex M Birch
- Again, I dont know the sizes on these
-22 x 18 Bass Drum, 10 x 8 Tom Tom,12 x 9 Tom Tom, 14 x 14 Floor Tom, 14 x 5.5, Snare Drum

PDP MXR
- Similar to the Mapex Pro M Rock
- Toms are 16x14, 12x9, 14x12
- Snare 14x6
- Bass 24x18

I had a few questions
- The Mapex Pro M and PDP sets Im looking at both have a "rock" set up in that they have big floor toms and only one mounted tom. I listen to mostly rock and likely this is what I would play (classic rock), but does having this type of set up limit what I can play? Are these big drums likely to be overpowering if I start playing with band?
- Is it difficult to switch between playing a kit that has 2 mounted toms and one floor vs the 2 floor set-up?

The Mapex Pro M seems to be what I am leaning towards, its about 700 used including cymbal stands (Im in Canada), its a maple set, its barely been used from what the owner says, and Mapex seem to be well reviewed.

Anyhow let me know what you think. Appreciate any and all answers/comments!

Edit: Added sizes for Mapex M Birch kit

Last edited:

willieboy_sf

You should get a Mapex Meridian Birch Standard kit. They replaced the M series. There is a place on eBay called "DrummerSuperstore" who is the largest Mapex dealer in the U.S., and they are very good people - a family run business. You can also call them and talk to the owner, who is a drummer. Their prices are so good, they are almost as low as used.

Ian

Silver Member
Of those kits I'd take whichever Mapex I preferred. They are both fantastic for the cash, so sizes and condition/extras would be my decision maker.

Rick H.