Help about improving confidence and ears

jazzpls

Hello, im a self taught drummer i could be classified as intermediate (maybe) according to my speed and technique, but when it comes to being creative, resourceful and to play a song i didnt practise and its not completely easy Im a total beginner. I cant really understand drumming in songs only by listening even if they arent complicated so i cannot reproduce them. The only way I could play a song is by learning the sheet music and im not happy with that, I have trouble with playing on the go/on the way, finding solutions to fills and grooves that i didnt learn, could anyone help me, what should I do, how should i practise to improve this?

mikel

Platinum Member
Play, play, and play some more. If you want to do stuff on the fly, and improvise, you need to try playing along to music you like or want to play. Dont listen to the drumming, listen to the song. The vocals and the main instruments that make the song what it is. This is possibly how the original drummer came up with the original drumming, not always but in a lot of instances.

Just play along to the music, try different things and you will find that there are many ways to interpret the same piece of music. When you have a bit more confidence have a go at a jam night. Try a Blues night cos the format is a little more song structured and you can work on different shuffle styles and bass drum patterns.

Dont sweat it, play to stuff in the privacy of your own practice space and make mistakes, thats how you learn what fits and what wont. Good luck.

Alex Sanguinetti

Silver Member
...The only way I could play a song is by learning the sheet music ...finding solutions to fills and grooves that i didnt learn...
Sorry, I doubt is the case, most likely IF you can read you read very little, because actually reading GOOD is what makes ALL the process of playing REALLY obvious.