Height of toms vs back pain

stabmasterarson

Hey guys, I ran into a problem. I'm a pretty new drummer who experiments a lot with my setup. I have an 8 piece tama rockstar and a pearl icon curved rack for it.

I play death/thrash metal, and am constantly working on improving my double kick speed, endurance and coordination. The other day I set the metronome to various speeds from 120-200bpm and played for 90 minutes straight, just playing various beats that I use at the various speeds, non-stop. I usually jam with my band for 2 hours at a time, but with short breaks <1 min between songs, with no problems.

Anyway, the next day my lower back and the tendons that go along the backs of my legs were super tight and very painful. I had set up my kit fairly low with the toms pretty flat and close together for a long time. I tried to play that day and as soon as I bent over for a tom fill my back felt it big time.

I then re-arranged my kit so the toms are a lot higher and closer, so it looks set up more like an 80s metal drummer than it was before. Now my back stays straight no matter what I do, and my fills are easier to nail fast. I noticed my back didn't hurt anymore. I'm short btw, 5'6".

When I look at the way people set up their kits, usually the toms are flat, cymbals are flat etc. Doesn't playing like this wreck your back? I sit with my thighs slightly more than a 90 degree angle to the throne, with my legs bent so my toes stick out past my knees for better speed on the bass drums.

Maybe any other metal drummers got an opinion on this? Just curious.

GruntersDad

Administrator - Mayor
Staff member