Got a nice compliment at a gig last week

EricT43

I am a rock drummer at heart, but I play in a classic blues trio as a way to get more playing experience and to expand my musical repertoire. We had a gig last weekend and after the show someone came up to me and said I am "the shuffle king"! Now, I'm not worthy to take that title away from Bernard Purdie and the other greats, but it made me feel good nonetheless.

For me this drove home the value of playing outside your comfort zone and practice, practice, practice. I don't really like the blues, I never listen to it unless I'm learning material for this band. But playing shuffles feels good! After all the practice I've had with this band, I can play them much better than when I started, and it has helped aspects of my rock drumming, such as ghost note dynamics.

Vintage Old School

Gold Member
A little well timed encouragement can go a long ways for all of us.
Mark Twain said "I can live two months on a good compliment."
You should be covered for June and July!

Chunkaway

Silver Member
I am a rock drummer at heart, but I play in a classic blues trio as a way to get more playing experience and to expand my musical repertoire. We had a gig last weekend and after the show someone came up to me and said I am "the shuffle king"! Now, I'm not worthy to take that title away from Bernard Purdie and the other greats, but it made me feel good nonetheless.

For me this drove home the value of playing outside your comfort zone and practice, practice, practice. I don't really like the blues, I never listen to it unless I'm learning material for this band. But playing shuffles feels good! After all the practice I've had with this band, I can play them much better than when I started, and it has helped aspects of my rock drumming, such as ghost note dynamics.