Get a Teacher or continue on my own?

i have been playing for few months now, and although i can play some covers of my fav songs, i kinda feel like i am beginning to hit a wall as far as developing my skills. i want to get better as a drummer, so i can play a variety of styles and genres. i want to commit to practice, learning and playing rudiments etc. would paying for an instructor be more beneficial, or can i use YouTube and free lessons online to good benefit as well?

toddbishop

Platinum Member
It depends on how good you are at figuring things out for yourself, but you need to be able to do that anyway. Nearly everyone can benefit from studying with someone, especially early on.

Longfuse

I play a number of instruments and I'm mainly self-taught. In the late 80s I studied music and had a guitar teacher for the first time since I was 12. We didn't always see eye-to-eye because I had my own (slightly unconventional) way of doing things, but I learned tons...even though I would have been loath to admit it at the time (youthful arrogance).

If you can find a good teacher, then it's worth getting lessons IMO. Doesn't have to be forever, but it might be life-changing.

Biscuit

I've been playing for just over 3yrs and i'm self-taught. I've came along way on my own learning from books, DVD's and even some Youtube videos. There have been many pro drummers that have made it to the "big time" and they were self-taught. It can be done and you can learn drums by teaching yourself but how much you get out of it depends on how much time and effort your willing to put into it.

With all that being said though i would get a teacher. Beleive me if i knew of a drum teacher where i live i would get lessons on the spot! I know i would certainly be a little further along with my skills if i had. If it were me i would get a teacher my friend. You won't regreat it.