French Or German Grip

Witterings

Silver Member
I had a lesson the other day with a new teacher and whilst I've spent ages analysing if I bounce the sticks in each hand the same way and to same height etc and use the fingers the same amount I'd never looked at my grip more from the bigger picture.

I hold the stick with my thumb pushing the stick into the second joint of my finger and certainly for playing Hi Hat anyway more French grip and the stick bounces up into the heel of my palm near the wrist.
He wants me to move the stick down to the 1st joint and play more German grip so the stick then bounces more into the top of the palm towards the base of the fingers coming out in an almost parallel line with the knuckles.
Anybody any comments on which is right / wrong, I had 2 other teachers prior to this and neither commented on nor wanted to change my grip and at the moment it feels absolutely HORRIBLE and like I can't control the stick properly.

I was self taught for many years so know I developed bad habits but have been having lessons for the last 2 years. I'm not against change and working towards something if the reward is going to be there in the end but I feel it's two hundred and three steps back at the moment as opposed to 3.

I also wonder if it's aggravating and making sore my wrist (which I've never had a problem with before) on the under / palm side in the middle just before it reaches the hand.

Any input much appreciated !!!

droveto

Yes. And traditional too. :)
As long as you're focusing on a relaxed technique, any grip is good to learn.

Pocket-full-of-gold

Platinum Member
Anybody any comments on which is right / wrong, I had 2 other teachers prior to this and neither commented on nor wanted to change my grip and at the moment it feels absolutely HORRIBLE and like I can't control the stick properly.
Both are right.

You're paying the man for his advice and experience. Give it time.

cprescott1972