Flams on an ekit

Is it just me or are flams a bit tricky on an ekit? I'm doing them successfully on the practice pad, but I don't know if it's the fact that I'm then going to the electronic kit or if it's because the pads on the kit are smaller than my practice pad

8Mile

Platinum Member
I'm not an expert on ekits, but my experience tells me that different pads perform very differently. The higher-end pads are much more responsive.

As for true rudimental flams—the kind with soft grace notes—I've yet to play an edrum that was sensitive enough to handle those well. But I'm sure they exist for the right price.

I'm not an expert on ekits, but my experience tells me that different pads perform very differently. The higher-end pads are much more responsive.

As for true rudimental flams—the kind with soft grace notes—I've yet to play an edrum that was sensitive enough to handle those well. But I'm sure they exist for the right price.
That could be my problem - My kit is an entry level kit, rubber pads, not the best cymbals; but I am learning. Ghost notes are quite difficult for me on this kit.

Push pull stroke

Platinum Member
I'm not a fan of e-kits for anything requiring subtlety, ghost notes, etc..

Are there any e-kits that you can play a good soft buzz roll on? I don't know.

Brian

Gold Member
I'm not a fan of e-kits for anything requiring subtlety, ghost notes, etc..

Are there any e-kits that you can play a good soft buzz roll on? I don't know.
The higher end stuff, you can get away with soft buzzes, but even so they are not perfect. On 80% of kits, the notes will be lost when the trigger drops out and that comes fairly quickly for most lower end kits; especially with rubber pads.

However I still maintain my 2007 Roland TD-12 is excellent and I don't ever feel like I am "stepping down" to an e-kit, when away from my real drums.

On-topic: I wouldn't expect flams to have issues though, that seems weird.

KamaK

Platinum Member