Figuring out a time signature

veecharlie

Hey guys,

This might sound ridiculous for some... but, to be honest, I'm not very good with odd time signatures other than 3/4 and 6/8. I'm trying to change that, so I hope to not get tomatoes thrown at me lol. So, I have an easy song to figure out, Forsaken by Dream Theater. I'm sure I'm an idiot and did not think about it before but... how does it proceed? I'm also quite sure there are a couple of time signature changes. And, I know DT is not the easiest stuff regarding time signatures, but if you listen to this song it's pretty straight forward.

Any tips on figuring out odd time signatures while listening?
Thanks a lot!

Last edited:

Dr_Watso

Platinum Member
Typically there's not much to the process. You find the pulse, then you count that pulse, and when the pattern starts over, your count stops. It's not always easy, especially with complicated prog where other instruments might even be playing in contrasting/complimenting/different signatures from the drums or other stuff.

Sometimes unless the author wrote how they feel the song it can be difficult to know if you're "correct" in their terms since a lot of time signatures are interchangeable or subdivisible.

Terry Branam

Official DW Chief Transcriber
I listened to the first half of the song. It was mainly in 4/4, but the verses were in 7/8

My approach to hearing odd meters is to first listen and count as many odd meter songs as possible! Then try to listen to bands like this, and when you can't count something, try to listen to all of the instruments and identify where the chords change, the vocal phrasing, the bass line, and where the drums sit with it all. Try to count where you feel the groove and listen to where the 'skip" or "lump" is.

Best of luck!!

Dr_Watso

Platinum Member
I listened to the first half of the song. It was mainly in 4/4, but the verses were in 7/8