Female Drummer Project/Questionnaire

natdrums

Hi! I'm in my second year of a music degree, and for one of my projects I am investigating the question: 'Do female drummers face discrimination (positive and negative) that male drummers do not?'
I have a really short questionnaire that I would be very grateful if any female drummers could fill out; also it would be super helpful if anyone (male of female) could tell me about their thoughts/experiences on the matter?
Here's the link to my questionnaire: https://www.surveymonkey.com/s/BTBY939
Thank you!

GruntersDad

Administrator - Mayor
You don't need a survey. Right above this click Search, type in Female Drummers and take notes. There is a ton there.

natdrums

You don't need a survey. Right above this click Search, type in Female Drummers and take notes. There is a ton there.
Thank you! I have had a look and found a lot of interesting stuff but the subject is 'Research Methods' so I need to conduct my own primary research also. :)

And thank you those that filled it in, it's so helpful and I'll definitely let you know what happens in my project.

Polska

Just take a look across various drum forums and see how many threads on female drummers include the phrases cute, hot, attractive, easy on the eyes, good looking or just include "female" before the word drummer, as if it needs to be added as a disclaimer of sorts. I think there is a good deal of discrimination, even if not consciously intended.

Last edited:

bermuda

Drummerworld Pro Drummer - Administrator
Just take a look across various drum forums and see how many threads on female drummers include the phrases cute, hot, attractive, easy on the eyes, good looking or just include "female" before the word drummer, as if it needs to be added as a disclaimer of sorts. I think there is a good deal of discrimination, even if not consciously intended.