Drummers Around The World

funkyrick

DW PRO DRUMMER
Hi Drum and Percussion Brothers and Sisters Everywhere!
Many greetings from beautiful Milano. One more day here in Northern Italy before heading back to Germany for my final clinic on the first leg of my 2012 European Groove Workshop Tour. It's early and I only have a few minutes so please forgive my typing....
I've been coming to Europe now for 30+ years (almost yearly) and it's always great to meet and talk with many of the Drummers from around the world. This current trip (5 weeks total) has included stops in Germany, Turkey, France, Switzerland and Italy. While at the Frankfurt Musik Messe (kinda the international version of the US NAMM show but MUCH larger) I always get the chance to see many old friends and make new ones from all over the World. This year was no different. I talked and hung out with interesting and interested players, students, teachers and professionals from countries including, Japan, Croatia, Czech Republic, Jordan, China, Spain, Portugal, Greece, Bulgaria, Hungary, India, Africa and of course the other above previously mentioned countries. It's always interesting to me how drummers from almost every country seem to be so open, willing and ready to discuss and share information about playing, performing and learning . Please understand that this is not a "slam" to anyone of a "dis" but my observance....... It's interesting for me to see the genuine interest in asking more questions and learning more about every aspect of the drumming art form, that I don't seem to see as often or as much many times in the states. Perhaps the word "jaded" might be a good term to use as we in the states are bombarded by advertising, clinics, concerts, the fastest, the loudest, the most technical etc. I truly feel there is always room for discovering, learning, exploring and delivering new and interesting information. It's really fun for me when talking to fellow drummers/percussionists to share things from