"Drummers are dumb"

matthew

Sorry!! But now that I have your attention. (i'm also a drummer btw)

My friend asked me "when did the stereotype that drummers are dumb" start?

I thought it might have been animal from the muppets giving that impression.

Does any one know where it originated from?

Big Foot

Silver Member
yeah, I know, and I'm ugly too...

I have no idea where it started but my guess is it started with a singer. I'm just GENERALIZING from personal experience. And of course not all our fellow musicians think we're dumb.

Thaard

Platinum Member
Guitarists are egocentrical douchebags, vocalists are wimps in girly outfits and bassists are actually a breed of neanderthals. There, now you got your stereotypical band.

MisterMixelpix

Silver Member
Well it's because, to the untrained, a drummer just sits back there and counts to four. Plus look at rock bands from the past. They didn't do a WHOLE lot compared to the rest of the band so it seemed like all a drummer had to do was keep time. I blame AC/DC and the Rolling Stones, mainly.

zepplin92

Guitarists are egocentrical douchebags, vocalists are wimps in girly outfits and bassists are actually a breed of neanderthals. There, now you got your stereotypical band.
Yep sounds like you hit the nail right on the head there man. made me laugh.

rogue_drummer

Gold Member
Actually the Stones' Charlie Watts does a lot more outside of the Stones. It's just their music that made him sort of only a timekeeper.

Yeah, somehow drummers got labeled that way. But I've found through the years that the less somebody knows about music, the bigger thier ego. The more they know about music, the more respect they give the drummer as being an intergral part of the band and the more humbled they are.