Drummer-Bassist Observations

Davo-London

Gold Member
How do you interact with your bassist?

I ask the question as a drummer-bassist who's surprised how little I interact with my bassist when I play the drums. However, when I play bass I am conscious of the drums and adjust my playing to both match their tempo and their groove. I’ve been playing bass for so long (40 years) that it’s intuitive. The better the drummer, the more I interact by eye and/or by the style of play.

Counter-wise, as a drummer I can go whole songs without noticing the bassist and then try extra hard to listen before forgetting again. I confess I play with distinctly average bassists. I’m sure this would be different if I was playing with myself!

Couldn’t resist – sorry.

So, Question time, how do you consciously or subconsciously play in sync with your bassist?

Peace
Davo

Pocket-full-of-gold

Platinum Member
Always seen them as my 'brother in arms' so to speak.

I bend over backwards to form a cohesive unit with them. Together you are the rhythm section. The foundation on which everything else is built. If you don't gel with the bass player it's distinctly noticeable.

One thing I learned from a young age is, the best bands always have tight rhythm sections. There's something to it.

I couldn't imagine going more than two bars without locking in with my bass players, let alone ignoring them for entire songs. The concept doesn't compute.

PorkPieGuy

Platinum Member
So, Question time, how do you consciously or subconsciously play in sync with your bassist?

Peace
Davo
At church, my wife plays bass. Since I was the one to teach her bass, we sync up my kick drum pattern and her bass patterns as needed.

In different bands I'm in, I do my best to figure out bass patterns and match those. If the bass player is all over the place, I just play as simply as possible.

brentcn

Platinum Member