Drum groove based app.

mikeyhanson

Silver Member
hmmm.....okay, I'll try it.....let's say I was looking for a 5/4 swing beat. What I believe you are suggesting is that I could use your app, look up 5/4 swing beat, and find examples of it that I could download. Okay, interesting enough.....

Let's say I'm a drummer. And let's say I wanted to upload a 5/4 beat. Would I then upload it myself and label it for consumption? Reason I ask is, what happens if I'm a drummer that really isn't 100% sure that I made a 5/4 beat even though I labeled it that way? If I upload a beat that isn't 5/4 but gets there through improper labeling or uploading, how will the app handle that? Will it fix it by reading it and correcting the labeling mistake? That would mean it would probably have to be a pretty advanced piece of analytical software.

I guess the other thing would be: how do I, the end user, benefit from having 50,000+ uploads of a 4/4 beat? Would there be much to gain having so many?
Would tempos be considered? Another can of worms. Accents? Ghost notes? How detailed would each file's labeling be? And verifiable? I mean, think of the Purdie Shuffle section.....oh man.....not only a frightening idea to program something that would recognize it, but even more frightening would be going through 10,000 "versions" of the Purdie Shuffle that people would undoubtedly upload without it really actually being "it".

I think, if something like this was done in a way where things could be analyzed and labeled by the software, it might help take the load off, but I really don't see how letting people upload stuff without checks and balances would work. I think it would be anarchy.

I understand that not everybody would play a beat the same, even if it's essentially the same beat. But I don't see the benefit of having software that can't guarantee through some form of detection that the beat that I'm hearing is the same thing as what is listed.