Drum/cymbal comparison

dnt

Hey, everyone! I'm fairly new to the forum, a self-taught drummer years ago looking to get back into playing. I've got my choices narrowed to Gretsch Catalina Maple vs Renown, and on cymbals Zildjian A Series 391 vs Paiste 2002 pack (some places marketed as the Classic Big Sound pack, I believe). Would appreciate any thoughts/opinions/advice on these. Thank you!

BertTheDrummer

Gold Member
Hey, everyone! I'm fairly new to the forum, a self-taught drummer years ago looking to get back into playing. I've got my choices narrowed to Gretsch Catalina Maple vs Renown, and on cymbals Zildjian A Series 391 vs Paiste 2002 pack (some places marketed as the Classic Big Sound pack, I believe). Would appreciate any thoughts/opinions/advice on these. Thank you!
Check out mycymbal.com and take a listen to see what speaks to you or make a trip down to Memphis and do it in person. Cymbal wise, both sets are great sets and I love both of them. They are different and have different characteristics.

Drum wise, I think your choice will probably end up depending on cost as they are similar sound wise.

GruntersDad

Administrator - Mayor
Staff member
Either Gretsch kit will be fine. It pretty much is your budget. FYIW I have had my Renown for 10 years now. I feel the same with the cymbals choices. Go listen if you have a chance.

gdmoore28

Gold Member