Creative Freedom

TsarBomba

I'm sure this has been discussed, in some form or another, but here's my dead horse.

I'm a relative newbie, I've only been playing for about 6 yrs. I've taken about 4 yrs. of regular lessons with excellent drummers and I've worked very hard - averaging about 2 hrs. of practice every night, 6 nights a week. I've played in several local bands covering different styles, and have played dozens of live shows locally and elsewhere in-state. It's not that I expect riches, fame, and rock-stardom...I just love to play and get a great deal of satisfaction from musical creativity and live performance. It's a hobby...but I don't do anything half-arsed once I take an interest in it...it's just how I am.

That said; I'm looking for advice from you veteran musicians out there as to what I should expect in terms of creative freedom, when playing in a band and helping orchestrate the original music we work on. How much input can the drummer expect to offer on his/her own drum parts? Keep the context in mind. I'm not playing in professional bands that make (or expect to make) any money. There is no label or producer. I'm not going on tour...I never intend to quit my day job. For me, this is strictly a creative and social outlet.