Complete beginner requesting help!!

Yearnin2Learn

Hello everyone! I am just starting to get into learning the drums. Ive always been interested but never took the initiative to try. Anyways my friend gave me Rockband for my birthday and that really made me want to learn the real thing.

The problem is I live in a small town and dont know very many people that play music especially drums, so me trying to get started is proving to be quite a task! I know this will be asking alot, but if anyone can give me some pointers,tips,suggestions,ANYTHING! on anything to do from buying a kit, setting it up, what lessons are like for someone who never has played anything, practicing, finding a band, etc.

Ive been researching kits, but am getting rather overwhelmed! I want something I can buy complete with everything Ill need to get going. All I seem to find is kits for 5 piece, but dont include cymbals? Im trying to find something that comes with EVERYTHING! I also dont want to spend much with just getting started. Just in case it doesnt work out. I also want to stay away from an electronic kit.

Once I get a kit, I want to try and find a place to take lessons, but am worried since I have never played any instrument before, and with Rockband Ive noticed I have a hard time moving my foot/hands at different times!

Anyways, if anyone can help me out with any of this, I would appreciate it beyond belief! Thanks and I hope everyone has a great holiday!!

Monica McCoy

Go buy a practice pad and some sticks.

Then find a teacher.

You can find full used kits on craigslist.

I'd recommend taking a few lessons before investing in a kit.

Deltadrummer

Platinum Member
Good advice there.

Since I notice you are from Baker U, I am thinking you are a bit older of a student and more ready to dig right in. the Tama Imperialstar is probably your best bet, quality kit at an affordable price with cymbals.

B

blade123

MOST kits don't include cymbals and if they do, they are complete crap.