careers in drumming

Being only 15 I still have my life ahead of me and as a drummer I would love to know what jobs are out there for our kind :)
I know you can always get gigs with band(s) but is that enough to make a living? other than drum teaching Im completely anaware of drum careers and how to get them. Can you do univercity courses dedicated to drumming and such?
Please help introduce me to the drummers lifestyle :D

there is alot of options.
There is places like the Drummers Collective for a university type education. Similar ones in the uk as well.
Like you said there is teaching jobs, studio/session jobs, Cruise ships jobs.
Big productions like Cirque Du Soleil or Broadway shows. Covers bands and similar things.

You can make a living off it, Most players i know teach as kind of a day job or steady income but mainly work towards tours and session jobs.

Regardless of you what choose it is tough to make a living off music but it can be don.

Bo Eder

Platinum Member
It's like alot of things in the arts. You have to develop a niche for yourself and fill it. Photographers are having to do this now more than ever since alot of their work doesn't really go to print anymore. The internet revolution has turned alot of things upside down. Making CDs hoping to sell has been killed by the iTunes store, but it opens alot of doors to people wishing to create music to get out there without record company support. So yes, things can be done, but you must study the market and be able to fill what that market wants. Easier said than done, though.

BillBachman

Gold Member