Call to post and other tuning questions...

M

Mike_In_KC

I am constantly working on tuning - as a newbie I still can't seem to get my toms "right". I was looking at the instructions that came with my tune-bot, a tool that I understand needs to be used to supplement not replace my ear. On to the questions...

In the tuning charts that tune-bot presents they mention the interval types between each drum. The only one I kind of understand is "Perfect Fourths" which I believe is the gap between the first two notes and last two notes of "Here Comes the Bride". The other intervals listed are "Perfect Fifths" , "Major Thirds", "Major Chord" and "Call to Post". If I understood perfect fourths correctly I assume perfect fifths would be the interval between A and F? Is major thirds the interval between A and C? I have no idea what "Call to Post" or "Major Chord" is - do I need to know?

If I want to maintain perfect fourths for my intervals and I am using four toms, 10, 12 (racked) and 14 and 16 on the floor AND I am using these note values:

10" = 3E
12" = 2B
14" = 2F#
16" = 2C#

What note should I tune my snare drum? Does anyone have a link to a chart that shows all of the notes? I had never heard of a "2F#" before I started playing drums - I only knew of F#....

The note values used above were taken directly from the tune bot instruction page - just fyi.

http://www.tune-bot.com/drum-tuning.html

All help as always is greatly appreciated.

MM

P.S. Larryace and Tony you are off the hook :)

Otto

Platinum Member
Hey!

Dont take my little blurb here as a replacement for persuit of a deeper understanding of theory....

imagine a piano keyboard...

c c# d d# e f f# g g# a a# b c

... the sharp(#) notes in that list above are the 'black keys'.

a 'half step' is the distance between a note and the next note in the sequence.

so, 1 half step up from g is g#....and 1 half step down from g is f#
1 half step up from e is f