Brian Blade drum sound in Black Dub

Big Swede 75

Hey guys,

I am a new drummer - been playing for a couple months, but playing electric guitar for 16 years, give or take. Anyway, I'm still trying to figure out "my sound" on drums, and a lot of that is just listening and finding sounds I like. I stumbled across this Black Dub video, and I love everything about the drums on this - I love the way Brian is playing, the tastefulness he brings to it, and the sounds he is getting.

http://bcove.me/vupy2o92

Just wondered if you guys have any thoughts on approximating that sound - not trying to rip it off, but just appropriating elements.
Questions:
Heads? Tuning of the snare and the rack tom? I literally just tuned a drumset for the first time yesterday - so I'm new to this.
Also, looks like the ride cymbal he is using is really big, and also looks like he is using another ride with rivets for his crash - love that sound.

Just for context, I bought a Ludwig Accent kit off Craiglist, mostly because it was cheap and it would give me something to play on and figure out what I like... So I'm going to put new heads on it, and would like to get cymbals that I will keep. When funds permit, I was thinking of selling it and buying a Sonor jazz kit. Sorry for the long post :)

jodgey4

Silver Member
Great taste! - Brian is a phenomenal drummer, and absolutely wonderful to see live. I actually saw him play with Black Dub, and it was one of my favorite live shows I've seen. I've listened to that album so many times...
He uses lots of vintage drums, mostly Gretsch, and sometimes Ludwig. I can't be sure, but I'm betting he's using Remo Coated Ambassadors on all of his drums, or a pre-muffled one-ply head like a PS3 on the bass drum. In this video, he has just a low tuning on the toms, maybe with the resonant heads a little higher than the tops. His snare sounds like a standard medium high tuning, same relationship with head tuning.