Boxy Sounding Drums?

AzHeat

Platinum Member
I've read how certain heads can make a drum sound boxy, but either I don't know what boxy is, or it means something different to each. I bring this up, because I've read so many say UV1s sound boxy, whereas Ambassadors sound worm and open. I have a set of ambassadors and a set of UV1s and have gone back and forth with them a few times and I don't hear boxy. The Ambassadors have slightly more high overtones, but that's about it. With this in mind, the UV1 has an odd sound to me on my Bubinga snare. Just not a good mix with that shell for some reason.

I'm not trying to turn this into an Evans vs Remo thread (It's what I have two complete sets of to compare). Just genuinely interested in the definition of boxy.

Here's a UV1 demo video. It's focusing on their new kick drum heads, but snare and toms are also outfitted with UV1s. Toms and snare sound really close to what I hear with my UV1s. https://youtu.be/sqRsWvsOoBE

Adding a beter video. Less marketing, more playing: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZrE7cCv9a-c&start_radio=1&list=RDsqRsWvsOoBE

To me, the more you deaden the heads like the UV1 EMAD, the boxier they sound. This evidently isn't the definition of boxy, so what does it sound like?

Last edited:

8Mile

Platinum Member
Boxy to me means they sound like a cardboard box. The sound you heard on so many of those 70s records, especially the studio drummers of that time.

GetAgrippa

Platinum Member
They use term to describe amps, guitars, and recording too don't they-you folks gotta keep me up with the jargon? Anyways boxy in drums, to me, is thuddy quick decay-no overtones-like a plastic box. But it has some boom and for some music is just right.

AzHeat

Platinum Member