Blastbeats (is it just nature, or lack of good practice?)

morningmist

SO.

Please do not ostracize me for being an idiot, if you think I am one. You're not the first, you're not original, etc.

I have some questions about blast beats. I've been playing for four years, give or take. I've been blasting for around three years, and I've obviously gotten better from my first days of doing blast beats. But I'm still pretty bad with them, I can't really keep them going for more than thirty seconds at 210 bpm (8th notes, not 16ths).

There are a few things I think I may be doing wrong, but I'd like to get opinions as well as tips on what they may be, and how to get better.

1. Genetics? I mean I've been blasting for 3 years about, will I ever get better? A lot of people I know picked up speed pretty quick. But for me, it's been a struggle with keeping that speed going for any time long enough. Do I just not have enough of the kind of muscle it takes to move the stick that fast?

2. Practice? One of my friends told me recently it's good to take a tempo like 170-180 (around where I'm comfortable for this exercise) and blast for about five minutes. Should I do this once, twice, three times, continually? My friend learned this from someone else, he never had a problem with speed, so he couldn't tell me.

3. Technique? Maybe I should change mine up, but I'm not sure where to start. Moeller is interesting, but is it really good for blasting? I've seen it used, it works. Finger flipping isn't that great of a technique for me to rely on SOLELY because I had hand surgery on my left (snare) hand two years ago. There's a lot of scar tissue that can't be broken, and it's on my ringfinger and middle finger knuckles. Believe me it makes using only my fingers insanely difficult. I can go fast with them, but not for very long. What's a good technique for blasting besides fingers? It seems to be what everyone else is doing to go fast.