Being a Drummer in NYC? Advice/Experiences needed!

DrummingIsArt

I graduated from undergraduate music school 3 years ago and am thinking about returning to school to study drum set. I went to school in Milwaukee, WI, and since then have moved to Denver, CO.

I am not happy with the scene in either city and would like to move to somewhere that has a bit more life in its live music presence. NYC seems to be the place, for me. I'd like to be able to make connections in a city where I could live for several years after graduating and be an integral part of the music scene. Right now, my eye is set on the Manhattan School of Music because John Riley (author of The Art of Bop Drumming) is part of the faculty, and a complete badass drummer and teacher!

I am interested in any experiences/advice that drummers currently living in NYC have for someone who will be new in town. Do you have your own kit? Does anyone rent practice space? Do most gigs provide a house kit? Do you travel with your cymbals on the subway? Does anyone practice at full volume in an apartment building, and if so, what are the consequences? What is it like to live in Brooklyn and commute to Manhattan for gigs? What kind of gigs do drummers regularly play, mostly jazz?

Also, has anyone else studied drum set, percussion, or composition in NYC? If so, where did you go to school and what were your experiences like? Has anyone been to the Julliard school for Jazz?

I would love ANYTHING at all about your experiences in the city. Treat me as though I have never been there before (even though I have) or like I am a 4-year-old who needs help understanding the simple details you take for granted!

Living Dead Drummer

Platinum Member
I lived in NYC for a while,