Band drama

Patoloco714

Hey guys, I’ve been a casual drummer for years but have found myself playing in a mediocre cover band. I admit I’ve played to a metronome about a total of a dozen times in my life and know 0 rudiments. I do sing, play guitar, bass, uke, etc. so I feel like I have a decent ear for music. A member of the band has been hinting at me not keeping the beat and honestly I think it’s him;not me. We’ve gone toe to toe with a metronome before and I’ve been right. I’m willing to practice to a metronome but this guy refuses to give me BPMs for the songs. As soon as I play to a BPM he says he likes, we get to the chorus or the bridge and he says are we still on beat? Yes, yes we are. I’m super annoyed. What do I do??

MrPockets

Gold Member
Plug in your Metronome into a speaker and play it when the band plays.

Also, but more drama, tell your band leader not being perfectly on tempo is human and sometimes better.

Patoloco714

Yeah I can’t possibly be playing in PERFECT time but I really don’t think anyone in crowd could possibly notice....but now I’m self conscious.

drummingman

Gold Member