Aspiring Drummer , first drumset? D:

mastodon187

hi everyone i am new to this forums , i am an aspiring drummer ,i've been wanting to get me a drumset for a while now and after thinking about it i decided i want to just go for it , for xmas i wanna get me my very first kit my budget is around $$1000-1300 but i dont know exactly what to go with , i see myself playing it as a hobby of mine, i would like my first kit to be somethin i remember as some well spent money hopefully hehe, dont want to end up buying a shitty kit and then just give up in between, due to sound and look of the kit just being horrible or not my taste if it helps music i like in general bands like lamb of god , metallica , slayer , megadeth , as well as a few others , brands i been looking at so far has been tama. i saw a tama imperialstar 7 piece kit for sale online and it looked decent , i been trying to find reviews on it and such but no luck , any tips on gettin that first kit ? thx

A

audiotech

Although the Imperialstar is decent, you can get better for very little more money. I would look into less drum, but higher in quality than the Imperialstar. You could probably find a good 5 piece kit for between $600 to $800 USD and use the rest for entry level cymbals and hardware. Would you be interested in buying used? The only problem with buying used, as a beginner, you really have no experience in what to look for in a used drum kit.

Maybe others will have some other options for you. You have a good bit of money to spend, don't spend it unwisely.

Dennis

BoomBoom

I would spend some time on Craig's List. You can get a lot more for your money that way. Someone is always looking to trade up, get married, have a baby, etc. Take a drummer friend when you go to check it out.

Monica McCoy

In your price range, you can either have a really nice used set or a crappy new one.

Plus the used one will hold it's value better in case you want to sell it later on.

GuelphPercussionist