Are click tracks overused?

ottawadrummer

Click track woes

Went to a couple sessions last week where a click has killed the band. But the producer insisted on using a click. We wasted time and it turned us all into feeling like robots and stressed about the whole situation because we couldn't nail some takes and the more we failed to nail them the harder it became, no one was relaxed anymore. And then each hour was studio dollars, etc., etc. Not good times.

We then just recorded live and it sounded way more human and it was way more relaxed and expressed way better the way the songs feel.
The tempo might've fluctuated a few bpm here and there but at least we were together as a band.

I'm no pro but I practice enough to have decent time and practice every day to a metronome. But in a band situation, metronomes destroy me... I am not the guy you want in your band if you have backing tracks lol. People dance at my gigs so I take that as a compliment that I at least have some kind of sense of rhythm ;-)

But no matter how much I prepare before hand it will always feel unnatural to me to be in a booth trying to play my part to a ticking sound and a pre-recorded take of my band. How can that possibly get the best emotional "feel" out of a song? I guess I'm not a studio guy.

Last edited:

WallyY

Platinum Member
There's a self-reflection loop that happens when we pay too much attention to ourselves instead of the whole situation. We think it's better, or worse than it really is to others.

A click may seem stale to the musician, but no click may also seem amateurish to the non-musician listener. It all depends on how well you pull it off in both cases.