And my metal project is done....

Bo Eder

Platinum Member
So I need to know if I'm crazy or not. Usually, when I get into a working band, there's a song list of tunes to either already know, or to learn on your own, and maybe a rehearsal to touch on stuff, and then the gig (sometimes that all happens on the same day). Or at least that's how I've been operating for the last 30 years, but today had me second guessing this approach.

As some of you know, I was allowed to play in a heavy metal project which I thought was really cool. The band was happy (apparently they've never had a drummer that could cover the songs they were playing close to note-for-note, much less sing at the same time), and we played a gig after having about four rehearsals. Then they booked a couple more for July.

But what they were really expecting was for me to basically marry to them and actually attend rehearsals every week. I told them when I joined on, I'm busy. They're not my only project I'm working on (I'm also in a Devo tribute band, and I sub for Bermuda in a local rock n roll cover band which is a lot of fun). So, of course, if I don't have anything going on, I fill up my calendar with gigs, and the other projects either try to get together, or at least talk about what needs to happen if we can't actually have one "touch bases" rehearsal.

Since the metal band couldn't rehearse every week with me, they thought it better that I just back out and not be a part of it. At first I was puzzled, but then I said, "I can't give you what you want, and you want what you want". So we parted ways amicably and I even told them if they need a sub, give me a call.