American vs European way of playing.

Status
Not open for further replies.

Thaard

Platinum Member
I'm studying composition at the moment, I have been dissecting everything from Bach to Katy Perry.
What I have noticed though, is that there seems to be a difference between the "American way of playing" to the "European way of playing".

It seems the biggest difference is that the American way is more in the way of being technically proficient and correct with the sacrifice of musicality versus the european's "musicality trumps all" kind of attitude.
I guess it's very noticeable in a contemporary setting, especially in jazz. I would listen to a concert of the Christian McBride trio and leaving with a sense of showmanship but not much else, while after listening to a local or european trio, it would seem kind of technically sloppy, but with great musicianship and groove.
I guess it's maybe a traditional thing? I talked this with my drum-teacher who has had the whole american drum tradition Berklee education , and he kind of agree'd, but also said that correct execution of the music, was important.
Anyone else had this experience?

SmoothOperator

Gold Member
I'm studying composition at the moment, I have been dissecting everything from Bach to Katy Perry.
What I have noticed though, is that there seems to be a difference between the "American way of playing" to the "European way of playing".

It seems the biggest difference is that the American way is more in the way of being technically proficient and correct with the sacrifice of musicality versus the european's "musicality trumps all" kind of attitude.
I guess it's very noticeable in a contemporary setting, especially in jazz. I would listen to a concert of the Christian McBride trio and leaving with a sense of showmanship but not much else, while after listening to a local or european trio, it would seem kind of technically sloppy, but with great musicianship and groove.