advise on getting a Cajon

jacknotty1

hiya everyone,

i was wondering if some one can help me with some advise on getting and explaining to way one works. i am in a collage band , we are starting to do some gigs but we are finding that transporting a electric drum kit is very difficult. this is the reason to why i am want to get a cajon. i have been drumming for over 6 years on acoustic kits and elctric ones too.

i hope someone could help with some advise on the matter i am stuck on.

Mongrel

Silver Member
Hello, and welcome to the forum.

If you have access to youtube start researching there for some great info on technique, purchasing and how different Cajons sound and play. This will give you a good way of not only hearing, but also seeing how this instrument works, and will help you determine how they sound, and what differences there may be between models, types, and sizes.

Next go to your local Guitar Center type big box music store and try them out in person. Bring a bandmate to help you. They can listen as you play and you can listen as they play. They usually have at least 5 to 10 new and used Cajons on the floor so you can really get a good idea of what is available and how much variation there can be in pricing. This is the best way to determine if a $300 new cajon is better for your needs than a $125 used Cajon. Speaking of used.... YES, buy used if at all possible.

Warning: some drummers are very negative towards the Cajon as an instrument when used outside it's cultural norms lol. Do not let them bring you down! The Cajon can be a very appropriate answer to the question you are asking-namely, how to support your bandmates rhythmic needs without bringing out a full kit. They can actually be a lot of fun, are easy to transport, and can be used as the center oiece of a pretty versatile small "kit" when you add in a hand cymbal, shakers, tambourine, etc.

Don't forget to have fun in your quest....

GetAgrippa

Platinum Member