Advice needed please - drumming virgin!

magicpink

Hi, i'm really hoping some of you guys will be able to offer me a bit of advice please. My son is about to start learning to play the drums. He's only 8 but is a bright kid and i'm fairly sure he'll stick at it. The thing is, although i have some knowledge of music and instruments, drums are not one of them, so when it comes to hunting for the right one, it's hard to know what to look for and what to steer clear of. Also when i go into music shops, the staff could pretty much tell me anything and i wouldn't know if they were being honest or just saw me coming! I don't want to spend a fortune, but on the other hand i don't want a cheap piece of chinese tat that will last weeks and sound awful. I've seen 2 second hand kits today which seem ok but i could be wrong! One guy wrote the details down as being a Sonor Force 207 (although i can only find 2007 online so maybe he wrote that wrong)...it's got the heads/skins (?!) replaced with Evans ones which looked immaculate to me, and the kit is black...they're asking £229 for it. The second one was a Tama Swingstar in blue, also with Evans heads/skins and they want £249 for that one. Can anyone offer me and insight into these 2 kits? Thanks :eek:)
Amy

edvia