Advice for an intermediate drummer

iiicarus

Hello everyone,
I have been playing percussion since I have been 10 years old I'm twenty four now. I played all through high school I have done marching band, percussion ensembles, private lessons etc. A little bit after high school I took a bit of a break and just recently have jumped back into it. I was actually originally going to go to college for it and everything. I had some friends of mine that did go to school for it and after graduation came out with an insane level of playing skill. I would love to eventually get on that level. My questions are do you really need to go to school for music to get that good? What kind of things could I do to "mirror" what someone would learn in school for music? I spoken with a lot of people that say it is not necessary to go to school to get on that playing level. What can I do to improve my skill level greatly overtime?
Some things I am already doing are watching a lot of drum related videos on the internet, taking lessons from one of the top rated teachers in Pittsburgh, and of course practicing. Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks

MikeM

Platinum Member
The only way to get trained up like that is to actually get the training. I just don't see a way around that. I mean, you're comparing where you're at with guys who've done the immersion thing in an academic environment, so if that's where you're trying to go, total immersion and hardcore study is what you must do to the degree they did or you likely won't ever get there.

However.

You can get pretty frikkin' amazing working from where you already are provided you have the motivation and inspiration to self-direct and work your ass off. You need to be hungry for it. Nobody gets amazing without a lot of sweat.