Adding to the Setlist....

MaryO

Platinum Member
So tonight the teacher told me to work on adding a few new songs for my set list. So here's my question: When learning new songs on your own, is it better to just find something on your skill level or to find songs that you really like and do what you can with them? So far, for the most part, I've been trying to work on songs I really like because I know I'll be playing them over and over again and am less likely to get bored while trying to learn them even if some of them are over my skill level (of course, since I'm new at this, most songs are over my head anyways).

Just curious to hear your opinions on this. Thanks!

bobdadruma

Platinum Member
It is best to play what you like and what you think that you can play at the entry level that you are at.
Like you said, Most tunes are challenging to you so you should just pick tunes that you like and can follow for now.

harryconway

Platinum Member
Pick songs that you like ... unless your getting paid, no sense playing a song you "hate" 30 times a week.​

Bo Eder

Platinum Member
I agree. This is probably where you find out if you really like alot of music. I think my parents got me going right - there isn't alot of music that I don't like and I owe that to them for having such a huge and varied record collection to go through as a kid. And then when they gave me a weekly allowance, they didn't mind it that I spent alot of time in the record stores buying records (my entire childhood from the mid-70s to the the 90s seems to have Tower Records as the backdrop).