Acoustic Drums VS Electronic Drum Kits

the drummer girl

Hello guys,
I was planning to buy a drum kit for myself and i am bit confused on whether i should be buying the acoustic or the electronic one.As i am still learning drums i feel acoustic one is a better option but i stay in an apartment complex where in i feel if i get the acoustic drum kit there would be noise issues and i m bit skeptical about buying the electric one as i feel i will not be able to learn and get the real feel of acoustic drums and may develop some bad habits.So please let me know if u guys have any option of reducing sound of the acoustic drum or is there any way out.Would buying an electric drum kit be a good decision?Please do suggest me and guide me

KamaK

Platinum Member
The key to learning an instrument is being able/allowed to play that instrument. If noise is an issue, you have the choice of an acoustic/hybrid or an electric kit.

The down side of learning on a hybrid or electric kit is that it only provides you with a subset of what you need to be able to play a real acoustic kit, like learning to ride a bicycle on an exercise bike. There is nothing wrong with beginning on an electric and converting to acoustic once you're in a better position to be able to play.

The only down side of an acoustic kit is the volume and related practice restrictions.

New Tricks

Platinum Member
There is a lot you can learn on a practice pad, just like there is a lot you can learn on an E kit that will transfer to an A kit.

The biggest benefit is the countless hours you can spend playing the E kit thru headphones.

When you transfer to an A kit, you will immediately realize that you need to learn some finesse because, they will be loud.

Instead of getting an E kit, my suggestion is to get an A kit and convert it. That way you are playing a reall sized kit and you can simply change the heads back when you want your A kit. Just research A to E conversions to find out what to do about cymbals and HH