A good entry-level kit

XG65

I'm basically a total noob at drumming (I've started only 5-6 months ago). After months of using practice pads, I think it's time to use the real thing.

Any of you guys know a good 5/6-piece kit within a $400 - $600 price range? I don't mind which company is it from. Also, is it good to go with a cymbal pack as my first cymbals? (I'm on a really short budget; I only have $1000).

I'll really appreciate any kind of suggestions and feedback. :)

Duck Tape

Platinum Member
I like yamaha stage customs, you might find a used one with some decent cymbals. Depends where you are.

Bo Eder

Platinum Member
I'm basically a total noob at drumming (I've started only 5-6 months ago). After months of using practice pads, I think it's time to use the real thing.

Any of you guys know a good 5/6-piece kit within a $400 - $600 price range? I don't mind which company is it from. Also, is it good to go with a cymbal pack as my first cymbals? (I'm on a really short budget; I only have $1000).

I'll really appreciate any kind of suggestions and feedback. :)
I'd shop around for something used in the $200-300 range myself. And spend the rest on decent cymbals (Zildjian A's or Sabian AA's at least) because those are what you'll be playing the most and you can't improve on their sound - so don't believe anybody who says it's not important to have good cymbals - it is. You'll hate anything less than what you hear on the radio. Trust me.

XG65

I'd shop around for something used in the $200-300 range myself. And spend the rest on decent cymbals (Zildjian A's or Sabian AA's at least) because those are what you'll be playing the most and you can't improve on their sound - so don't believe anybody who says it's not important to have good cymbals - it is. You'll hate anything less than what you hear on the radio. Trust me.
Thanks for your suggestions... You know any decently priced kits?

XG65