Search results

1. V

Smoothing out Shaker/Maracas

I feel dumb for asking this, but I'd like some opinions on playing shaker. Every time I try to play time with a shaker or maracas, it sounds like bad. Not smooth at all, really angular and forced. Any tips on getting a nice shaker sound, like in Tom Petty's You Don't Know How it Feels?
  2. V

How can I tell if the snare I had to start out with is an Acrolite

When I started playing in 5th grade, circa 1997, my parents got me one of those Ludwig student snare drums that came with a black rubber practice pad that went . It looked something like this The years went by and I assumed that the drum was cheap and worthless. I drilled a few holes in it...
  3. V

Soreness from playing double bass

So I snagged a used Iron Cobra pedal the other day for 115 bucks, and have started seriously working on incorporating it into my playing. Right now I'm just working on getting my endurance up. I just finished doing single 16th notes around 80 bpm, and it was exhausting. I felt a soreness in...
  4. V

Teaching middle schoolers percussion after school...

So I teach math at a middle school/high school, and took on the job of drumline instructor during football season. It was a fun time, a little stressful, but I enjoyed it. Our parade season is winding down, and I want to keep working with the kids after Christmas is over. Any suggestions? I...
  5. V

Sally (Paradiddle exercise)

A guy at guitar center showed me this fun paradiddle exercise he got from some drum corp guys. Not really sure where the title comes from, but here it is. Capital letter are accents Rlrr Lrll RlRlrr LrLrll Rlrr LrLrll RlRlrr Lrll RlRlRlrr LrLrLrll RlRlRlrr Lrll Rlrr LrLrll RlRlrr Lrll RlRlrr...
  6. V

Help identifying a Slingerland kit.