Gary Chaffee patterns.....What order to work on?

Steve.B

Hi Guys,

I have purchased the above books and was hoping for some advice. Which order to work from them would be most beneficial for a relatively new rock drummer?

Thanks

Steve B.

They're actually designed so that you can work on them in any order you choose. You can work the sections in random order and you can even work from two (or more) books concurrently.

They're cleverly designed for you to more or less do as you please with them.

Forum member Mighty joker did an excellent series on YouTube that I've found beneficial. Worth checking some of them out: https://www.youtube.com/results?search_query=jonathan+curtis,+gary+chaffee

I've been studying with Gary for the last two years and I too say that you can work on them in the order you feel like depending on what you want to develop and where you are at with your drumming. That being said, I often will have students start with the Fat-Back exercises (found in Time Functioning Patterns) or the first studies found in the Sticking book.

They're actually designed so that you can work on them in any order you choose. You can work the sections in random order and you can even work from two (or more) books concurrently.

Forum member Mighty joker did an excellent series on YouTube that I've found beneficial. Worth checking some of them out: https://www.youtube.com/results?search_query=jonathan+curtis,+gary+chaffee
Thanks for the link, I will check them out.

I've been studying with Gary for the last two years and I too say that you can work on them in the order you feel like depending on what you want to develop and where you are at with your drumming. That being said, I often will have students start with the Fat-Back exercises (found in Time Functioning Patterns) or the first studies found in the Sticking book.
Thanks for your reply.....Im kind of a beginner so am looking for a sort of guide to work through the books from that perspective.