Recent content by retoxtony

1. retoxtony

Mapex or Gretsch?

Neither are going to be great kits. I have zero experience with the Mapex kit but I have spent quite a bit of time playing on a set of Gretsch Energy’s. In my last band the singers son had a set so when we rehearsed I used them. I put on some better heads (can’t remember what exactly) and I got...
  2. retoxtony

Frustrated Yamaha Live Custom Owner

Gonna be tough to find an oddball size like that but reverb is probably gonna be your best bet. I’ve been looking for an 8” tom and a matching snare for my Amber shadow Live Customs and haven’t had much luck. I also bought mine once they were already discontinued so I knew finding any add ons...
  3. retoxtony

What's your latest purchase?

I’ve been trying to not buy any new drum gear lately but I made a few good purchases in the last 2 weeks. I ended up getting myself a used 6.5x14 Dunnett Titanium snare for $500 Canadian. That’s about $390 USD so it was a hard deal to pass up. So far I’m happy with it but I still prefer my old...
  4. retoxtony

Will deep bass drums ever make a comeback?

I think deeper bass drums are already starting to go away and I’m ok with that. I’m finding more kits being offered with a 22x16 than a few years ago. I’ve always preferred a 22x16 over the deeper drums even though I do currently have 2 kits with a 22x18. For gigging I really prefer my 22x16...
  5. retoxtony

What y’all think about this set?

I’d stay away from the Sabian B8s. While there are some cymbals using B8 material that are great sounding (paiste 2002 or giant beats come to mind) the low end Sabian are pretty awful sounding. I started out with Sabian B8 and they were gone as soon as I started gigging. Also, the resale on them...
  6. retoxtony

Factory Yamaha Heads- what are they?