Two single pedals on one bass drum?

godsmack96

Hey, I'm fairly new to both drumming and this forum. Me and my brother are starting to write music, and the only thing we're waiting on is a complete set. And most of our songs we've written already require/would sound better with double bass. But, we don't have that much money to start with (plus I'm lefty, so lefty double bass pedals are around 3 times as much) and, I don't really want to put two bass drums together because of the space we are provided. I have an idea to put two single bass pedals on one bass drums, because it sounds like it might be similar to a double bass pedal, just the pedals are closer together. I'm just wondering if that's a good idea? If it's even possible? I'd really appreciate it if someone responds soon.

There can be only one! (one each drum)
There is no room on a single BD for two pedals. You'd have to set them on a single form then attach that to the BD, but then your pedal might be too far away from the head to hit it effectively.
Playing would be difficult since your legs would be side by side leaving little room for play. Then your snare would have to be mounted high above your legs that it would come up to your chest, not effective.
Placing the snare on either side of you would also not be effective since you'd have to twist your body to an extreme that would be detrimental ergonomically and cause lower back pain and shoulder pain.
Buy a dual pedal or don't worry about the BD drum part, you can always cheat and dub in the BD drum part.
You can always learn how to get that sound by playing off your BD and FT.

richard: that's true. never really considered the snare position.

bobdadruma: I love the idea of the Dualist, just a tad confused on how it works

The old Trixon Speedfire "elipsoid" bass drum had flat-bottom hoop that allowed two pedals to be attached. The drum had a divider inside, and each pedal played a separate 'chamber' of the kick, producing two different sounds.