The birth of heavy metal

Guess you missed out on the 80s when every song subject was about girls, cars and partying out.

Sure plenty of bands have wrote songs on satanic subjects/ occult but Sabbath was not the first to do it so why associate then as influence to every band that writes about satanism/occult? I'd say Black Sabbaths music has stronger ties to grunge music and some of the darker, underground heavy bands like Celtic Frost, Candlemass, St Vitus ect, but those are largly unknown bands compared to the big boys like Iron Maiden, Judas Priest, Motorhead, Metallica, ect who all claim influnce from DP

Listen to the first Sabbath albums they are very much rooted in blues and jazz, it was heavy, but it wasn't "metal" sounding the way "heavy metal" would be known for....

Simple fact is that the image, sound and general preception of heavy metal in the traditional sense is closer to what deep purple pioneered,

And lol I was a Purple fan before I was a drummer so it's not because I love Paice....

It's funny that you bring up these bands

direct quote from Rob Halford..."Sabbath were without a doubt the very first Heavy Metal band to EVER come into existence."

Direct Quote from Bruce Dickinson..."Listening to Black Sabbath...They're like the anchor for Heavy Metal."

Did Metallica ever record a Cover a Deep Purple song? Nope but they covered and recorded two Sabbath songs...lol
(though i have heard them play Black Night and Burn Live)

So did....

Magadeth
White Zombie
Biohazard
Sepultura
C.O.C
Type O Negative
Pantera

list goes on and on....

I like Purple...but did they even come close to the impact Sabbath had on the Music world? Nope not even close

ask any kid on the street if they have ever heard Space Trucking or Woamn from Tokyo....then ask them if they have ever head Iron Man or Paranoid...lol

music critics agree that the three most influential artists to change the face of popular music

Elvis
The Beatles
Black Sabbath