Cutting Hi-hat rod... Advice?

Avendesoran

I'm an open handed drummer so I put my hi hat very low and there's a lot of extra rod as a result. It gets in the way when switching to my ride, snare, toms... etc

What should I use to cut it? After I cut it, what should I do about the sharpened edge where it was cut? I was thinking about trying to find a rubber cap or should I find something to file it down and round the edges?

thanks

I did this once.... just used a hand saw to cut it, and regular old sandpaper was enough to take off anything sharp. Then I added a Jack In The Box antenna ball, and it never looked better. :)

I used a little hacksaw and a file...took 30 seconds. The metal they use is softer than you think. :)

Just don't cut it too short...leave some slack in case your tastes change.

Yeah, it's easy to cut off the end and file it to a smooth round shape, but it won't have any chrome on it. If you want to do it really cool, cut it off at the threaded end, and get it re-threaded at a machine shop. (Or do it yourself, if you have the tools.)

I like the idea of putting a Jack in the Box ball on there, though!

Yeah, it's easy to cut off the end and file it to a smooth round shape, but it won't have any chrome on it. If you want to do it really cool, cut it off at the threaded end, and get it re-threaded at a machine shop. (Or do it yourself, if you have the tools.)

I like the idea of putting a Jack in the Box ball on there, though!

It would be cool to have artsy hihat clutches, skulls, faeries, religious symbols, etc.

My advice? Get the biggest, sharpest sword you can. Try it out on dead bodies first if you're not sure how sharp it is. Secondly, make a practice horizontal blow to the rod. Make sure it's horizontal, I cannot stress this enough. Horizontal. Horizontal. Horizontal.