Falling to the dark side...

dkerwood

Silver Member
So back when I was ten, I started playing the drums. My original gear was a 196x Ludwig snare in a blue suitcase-looking drum case. When I was twelve, my grandparents pieced together a 60's Japanese kit from bits and pieces they found at garage sales and I had my first kit (and the only time I've ever seen a "metal strip" driven kick pedal).

When I was thirteen, however, I decided that I wanted to sing in a rock band. I couldn't do that from the drums (or so I thought- I had never heard of Phil Collins), so I picked up my dad's acoustic guitar. Within a few months, the grandparents came through again with a Teisco electric (terrible, TERRIBLE axe... I still have it in my closet) and a little Peavey solid state amp. I still played drums, but I was the number 3 set player in my school and quickly became the number 2 guitar player... :)

So... let's keep a tally here- at fourteen, I bought a set of Paiste 400 cymbals. Also at fourteen, I bought a Squier II Fender Stratocaster and a bigger Peavey solid state amp. Later that year, I bought a Fender amp and started my collection of guitar effects.

At sixteen, a bunch of my gear got stolen (my Paiste cymbals, acoustic and electric guitars, Fender amp, and some effects), so I bought an Alvarez Artist acoustic-electric, a Cort Strat copy. A little later this year, I also bought a Marshall Valvestate 8080 amp, and my collection of pedals continued to grow. Without cymbals, my kit tended to sit unplayed unless I could borrow cymbals from the high school. A few months later, I bought a Hohner jazz bass for use in jazz band.

When I was eighteen, I picked up a Samick Strat clone (another garage sale find), and traded that, my Marshall, and another SS Peavey amp for a 2x12 Fender combo. By now, the drumming bug was starting to pop up again, but so was the "keyboard bug" and the "bass bug".